MOVING

The forum has been moved to a new server.

Please visit QuakerParrotForum.net

and register there to participate in the community.

We will do our best to maintain these archives so that you can still search and find answers to your Quaker questions!

Photo

Washing Veggies & Fruit

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 TeiKei'smom

TeiKei'smom

Adv Member

• Members
  • 608 posts

Posted 05 October 2007 - 09:48 AM

I keep reading everyone saying to wash the veggies or fruit before feeding (which is common sense nowadays), but for a bird, how do you wash them to make sure they are safe? I am new at this and not sure exactly how to clean things like broccoli, cauliflower, peas, potato's, carrots, and so on... I know you peel the skin from apples so they are not as important to clean, but veggies are since most skins will be eaten. Can someone please help me out? Any help will be appreciated! unsure.gif
JA

#2 Uncle Zippy

Uncle Zippy

BCON=Beer Coming Out Nose

• Members
  • 7,548 posts

Posted 05 October 2007 - 12:52 PM

I generally just rinse under cool tap water. Nothing special.

One thing to remember is to wash the surface of any fruit or veggie you plan to cut or peel before you cut it. Any residual pesticides can contaminate the inner fruit while cutting if the skin hasn't been washed first.

Perfect example is that apple, or watermelon. Always wash the outside of those kinds of fruit before you cut.

#3 rivka17

rivka17

Adv Member

• Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 05 October 2007 - 01:20 PM