New Quaker Parrot

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 love my quaker

love my quaker

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 May 2012 - 06:57 PM

Hey guys im new to this and I'm proud to say i'm getting my first QP next week and I would love to know about some of there favorite food,toys ect.Beacause the breeder im geting it from says that toys are just a wayst of money, and that they never touch them :huh: ? Also he will be only two months old.Should I have a good handfeeding mix on hand? Would love some answeres :) Thanks!

#2 Siobhan

Siobhan

Adv Member

• Members
  • 8,966 posts

Posted 10 May 2012 - 07:16 PM

At two months, he ought to be weaning. In fact, a good breeder wouldn't let him go to a new home until he was weaned. However, this breeder doesn't sound too good -- toys a waste of money???? Birds without toys and without the need to forage will be bored stupid.

So ... try to get him on pellets as soon as you can. You might have to soak them in water or apple juice at first to soften them up. Try to get him to eat fruits and veggies, too. Mine have very specific tastes and they're all different, so you might have to waste some food while you figure out what he likes. I have one who loves jalapenos and one who won't touch them. They like tomatoes, but only home grown ones. One likes green beans. One likes lima beans but sucks out the center and drops the outside. One of my tiels loves hamburgers. :lol: One pigeon loves bread. That's not very good for them -- it can gum up in their crops -- so she doesn't get much, but I let her have a little for a treat. Both Quakers love mashed potatoes.