MOVING

The forum has been moved to a new server.

Please visit QuakerParrotForum.net

and register there to participate in the community.

We will do our best to maintain these archives so that you can still search and find answers to your Quaker questions!

Photo

New To Hand Feeding Need Advice.

hand feeding supplies pulling babies from nest box raise inside house or outside hand feeding tips

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 MelbourneJoyce

MelbourneJoyce

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 June 2014 - 10:37 AM

Hello Bird Friends,

I'm about to pull baby Quakers from the nest box in a week, and need advice.  I've read babies need warmth and humidity. If I bring them inside, I have a warm room but concerned the ac draws humidity out of the air. Is this something to be concerned about? This is my first time hand feeding so I'm nervous, but ready.

I can put them in my bedroom, the warmest room in the house. I need to buy supplies: a small aquarium, heat lamp (don't know what wattage to buy), termometer (to test formula heat), formula, syringes. If you know of any other things I need to buy - please tell me.

Can I use paper towels in the aquarium to change regularly to keep clean?

What type heat lamp (and wattage) do I need to purchase?

How many cc's do you feed at three weeks, 4 weeks and so on?

How do I check the crop to make sure formula is just right, so not to overfeed?

I was told I can feed every four hours and it's not necessary to feed at night.

I was told to wash the syringe after feeding each bird in clean water, and soak syringes in water (with a little clorax) to kill any bacteria after feedings.